4th Annual Innovation & Inclusion Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for Digital Diversity Network’s (DDN) fourth annual Innovation & Inclusion Awards recognizing the outstanding achievements of diverse (Asian, Black, Latinx, Native American) digital and technology professionals nationwide.

Honorees will be selected by a confidential committee of industry professionals and will be recognized during a premier event attended by 200+ technology professionals, including influential innovators, diversity and inclusion officers, entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, academics, executives, professionals, media and non-profit organization leaders.

Nominations must be submitted online by 2:59am EDT on August 24, 2019.  Winners will be notified in mid-September.  Attendance is required at the awards ceremony and reception to be hosted at LinkedIn in New York City on the evening of Thursday, November 14. 

Program/Event Objectives

The objectives of the recognition are:

  • To showcase the contributions of diverse digital and tech professionals
  • To acknowledge tech industry progress and promise in advancing diversity
  • To inspire tech companies, and the industry at-large, to foster a culture of diversity and inclusion
  • To facilitate networking and introductions among diverse digital and tech professionals, hiring companies and tech investors
  • To inspire future generations to pursue innovation and tech careers, regardless of socio-economic background

Nominations Process/Award Categories

Nominees should be diverse (i.e., Asian, Black, Latino, Native American) digital and/or technology professionals, aged 21 or older, who are employed full-time in either the corporate or entrepreneurial sector. 

They may represent a broad range of industries including, but not limited to:

  • Advertising
  • AI
  • App Development
  • Consumer Products
  • Content Creation
  • Design
  • E-commerce
  • Education
  • Entertainment (Animation, Film, Gaming, Music)
  • Fashion & Beauty
  • Financial Services
  • Health Care
  • Media & Journalism
  • Mobile
  • Non-profit
  • Public Relations
  • Robotics
  • Science
  • Social Media
  • Social Enterprise
  • Software/Hardware Development
  • Travel & Leisure
  • Venture Capital/Business Incubator
  • Virtual Reality 

 Award Categories/Sub-categories

Awards will be conferred upon entrants in the five categories listed below.

  1. Code Breakers

A Code Breaker is an individual who has made a significant breakthrough in the tech industry and/or has achieved a “first” in either their career (corporate or entrepreneurship) or product innovation.  They include, but are not limited to:

  • Corporate Leaders
  • Founders
  • Venture Capitalists
  1. Change Agents

A Change Agent is an individual who is advancing diversity & inclusion in the industry in one of the following ways:  Investing in the success of minority founders; creating a culture of inclusion within their companies; leading the public discourse on tech diversity & inclusion; creating employment and ownership opportunities for underserved communities; and empowering their communities via technology and innovation.  Examples include:

  • Accelerators/Incubators
  • Chief Diversity Officers
  • Media/Journalists
  • Policy Makers/Advocates
  • Venture Capitalists/Investors
  1. Inventors & Innovators

Inventors and Innovators are the geniuses creating the hardware, software, patents, products, and experiences and ideas that are fueling the future of digital and tech.  Examples include:

  • App Developers
  • Designers
  • Engineers
  • Scientists
  1. Culture Catalysts

Culture Catalysts are the trendsetters and influencers in the digital and tech zeitgeist.  Examples include:

  • Brand Marketers
  • Digital Content Creators (Video, Gaming, Blogging, Animation, VR)
  • E-Commerce Leaders
  • Social Media Experts
  1. Social Entrepreneurs

Social Entrepreneurs are visionary individuals and/or organizations who are achieving large scale, systemic and sustainable social change through a new invention and/or a more rigorous application of known technologies or strategies.  Examples include:

  • Education (includes STEAM)
  • Economic Development
  • Healthcare
  • Political Engagement
  • Social Justice

Non-refundable Entry Fee:

  • $150 per entry 

Incomplete entries and/or those submitted without payment will not be given consideration.