Inaugural 2016 Innovation & Inclusion Awards



Nominate a Diverse Digital Media or Tech Leader Now!

Entry Deadline Extended to Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Nominations are now being accepted for Digital Diversity Network’s (DDN) inaugural Innovation & Inclusion Awards recognizing the outstanding achievements of diverse (Asian, Black, Latino, Native American) digital media and technology professionals nationwide.

 Entries will be accepted online-only through Tuesday, July 19 and winners will be saluted during a VIP industry reception in New York City on Wednesday, September 28th in conjunction with the 4th Annual Digital Diversity Network Conference.

Awards Program Objectives

The objectives of the recognition are:

  • To showcase the contributions of diverse tech professionals
  • To inspire the digital media and tech industries to foster a culture of diversity and inclusion
  • To facilitate networking among diverse tech professionals, hiring companies and tech investors
  • To inspire future generations to pursue STEAM careers, regardless of socio-economic background

Entry Guidelines

The Innovation & Inclusion Awards are open to all brands and industries, including the non-profit and media sectors. Spanning a spectrum of disciplines, the awards will be conferred in the following categories:

  • Codebreakers
  • Change Agents
  • Inventors & Innovators
  • Culture Catalysts
  • Social Entrepreneurs

Nominees should be diverse (Asian, Black, Latino, Native American) digital media and/or technology professionals, aged 21 and older, who are employed full-time in roles including, but not limited to, corporate leaders, founders, venture capitalists, accelerators, incubators, developers, designers, engineers, digital content creators, brand marketers, policy makers, and tech journalists. Self-nominations will be accepted.

Honorees will be selected by a confidential committee of industry professionals and will be recognized during a premier event attended by 200+ technology professionals, including influential innovators, diversity and inclusion officers, entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, academics, executives, professionals, media and non-profit organization leaders.

Nominations must be submitted online by 11:59pm EDT on July 19, 2016. Winners will be notified in August. Attendance is required at the awards ceremony and reception to be hosted on Wednesday, September 28 from 6:00 – 9:00pm in New York City in conjunction with the 4th Annual Digital Diversity Network Conference.


Nominee Disciplines & Award Categories

Nominees may represent a broad range of industries including, but not limited to:

• Advertising • App Development • Consumer Products • Content Creation • Design • E-commerce • Education • Entertainment (Animation, Film, Gaming, Music) • Fashion • Financial Services • Health Care • Media & Journalism • Mobile • Non-profit • Public Relations • Robotics • Science • Social Media • Social Enterprise • Software/Hardware Development • Travel & Leisure • Venture Capital/Business Incubator

Awards will be conferred upon selected entrants from the disciplines/professions within the five categories listed below.

  1.  Codebreakers
  • Corporate Leaders
  • Founders
  • Industry Pioneers
  1. Change Agents
  • Accelerators/Incubators
  • Media/Journalists
  • Policy Makers
  • Venture Capitalists/Investors
  1. Inventors & Innovators
  • App Developers
  • Designers
  • Engineers
  • Scientists
  1. Culture Catalysts
  • Brand Marketers
  • Digital Content Creators (Video, Gaming, Blogging, Animation, VR)
  • E-Commerce Leaders
  • Social Media Experts
  1. Social Entrepreneurs
  • Education (includes STEAM)
  • Economic Development
  • Healthcare
  • Political Engagement

Entries may be submitted in multiple categories. A separate form is required for each entry.

For questions about the awards or for the celebratory event sponsorship opportunities, please contact

Submit your nomination(s) now!